Diocese’s newest seminarian, Wiktor, a product of Poland

Seminarian Marcin 1

BY TERRY DICKSON

OCEAN SPRINGS – The diocese’s newest seminarian, Marcin Wiktor, spent his summer interning at St. Alphonsus Parish, under the direction of Father Michael Snyder.

Wiktor, 26, a native of Poland, spent approximately two months learning about parish life.

“I served during Mass every day. I participated in Vacation Bible School for children. I brought Holy Communion to the sick on Fridays and I visited St. Alphonsus School and the hospital,” said Wiktor, the older of two boys born to Malgorzata and Jacek Wiktor.

“I have learned a lot from Fr. Snyder. He showed me that a good pastor should serve and pray for his parishioners. He explained to me that a good shepherd should be among the people especially with the sick.”

Of all his duties, Wiktor said he most enjoyed having the opportunity to bring the Eucharist to the sick and shut-ins of the parish.

Wiktor said he thoroughly enjoyed the experience of serving at St. Alphonsus and getting to know the parishioners.

“I have been treated very well,” he said. “They supported me through their prayers during the adoration of Blessed Sacrament. They always were smiling and open to me,” he said.

Wiktor, who came to the United States in 2015, is currently studying at SS. Cyril & Methodius Seminary in Orchard Lake, Michigan, which is where he was recruited to the Diocese of Biloxi by former vocations director, Father Dennis Carver.

“Every new seminarian has to choose the diocese where he wants to be a priest,” said Wiktor. Father Carver came to Orchard Lake last academic year, and he invited me to visit the Diocese of Biloxi. I visited the diocese last Easter. After this I decided to choose the diocese of Biloxi.”

Wiktor is one of three Polish seminarians studying for the Diocese of Biloxi. The others are Darek Dega and Tomasz Golab.

“It is sometimes difficult being away from my family, but I believe that people need me here more than in Poland,” he said. “Of course, I often call my family by Skype. So, I know mostly what happens in my family.”

Wiktor St. Alphonsus on July 6 and is currently spending time with his family in Poland. He will return for his fall semester late next month to begin his sixth year of studies, including four in Poland and one in the United States.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

